Board members

The Board consists of:
- three elected office‐bearers: President, Vice-President and Treasurer
- three ordinary Board members, each of whom must be elected
- up to three additional appointed Board members.

In determining the membership of the Board, the Board must use its best endeavours to ensure that at least two members are Indigenous. Office bearers are elected for three years terms (maximum of two consecutive terms); ordinary members are elected for two year terms (maximum of three consecutive terms).

John Stoney

President – Elected September 2018, Board member since 2016

About John

Kiri Parata

Vice President – Elected September 2019, Board member since 2017

About Kiri

Carina Calzoni

Treasurer – Elected September 2019

About Carina

Sharon Clarke

Ordinary member – Elected September 2019, Board member since 2015

About Sharon

Doyen Radcliffe

Ordinary member – Appointed February 2020, Board member since 2016

About Doyen

Anne Stephens

Ordinary member – Appointed December 2020

About Anne

Charlie Tulloch

Ordinary member –  Elected September 2020, Board member since March 2020

About Charlie


The Board is accountable to the Society's membership. All members of the Board must adhere to the requirements of the ACNC and the Australian Corporations Act 2001, as well as the provisions set out in the Society's Constitution and Policies.


The Board consists of three named office bearers (President, Vice-President, and Treasurer) and three ordinary board members, all elected by the membership. The Board has the discretion to appoint up to three additional ordinary board members, ensuring that at least two members of the Board are Indigenous and taking into account the overall mix of knowledge, skill and attributes of Board members.


While the Board has overall control of the Society, it is subject to the provisions of the Australian Corporations Act 2001, its obligations to the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission and the AES Constitution. The Board delegates overall management to a Chief Executive Officer, and may delegate certain powers to committees of members. All Board positions are unpaid.


Board elections are held each year during the month preceeding the AGM (usually August).

Contact the Board

You are welcome to contact AES Board members: 

President email:
Chief Executive Officer email:

Postal: PO Box 476, Carlton South, VIC 3053
Note: Written correspondence to the Board or a Board member should be directed through the AES Office.