

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Wednesday 27th September 2023 commencing 5.30pm AEST Boulevard Auditorium, Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Building

I. Welcome

The company secretary, William Wallace, declared a quorum of members at 5:41pm. The President, Kiri Parata declared the meeting open, acknowledged that the meeting is being conducted on the unceded Country of Turrbal and Yuggera Peoples, introduced in-attendance Directors Carina Calzoni, Anne Stephens, Tony Kiessler, Jade Maloney and welcomed members present at the meeting.

Members of the Company in attendance: Jeffrey Adams, Sofia Ahmed, Natalie Arthur, Ruth Aston, Phillip Belling, Carina Calzoni, Sharon Clarke, Janet Clinton, Rick Cummings, Christabelle Darcy, Yonas Dare, Erin Davis, Martina Donkers, Liam Downing, Julie Elliot, Kim Grey, Robert Grimshaw, Liesl Harrold, Andrew Hawkins, Caroline Henwood, Mohib Iqbal, Wendy Jarvie, Gemma Kerrison, Tony Kiessler, Angelina Leonello, Jade Maloney, Greg Masters, Samantha Mayes, Melinda McPherson, Caitlin Morton, Alice Muller, Ruth Nicholls, Marion Norton, Kiri Parata, Carol Quadrelli, Sarah Renals, Duncan Rintoul, Nadine Rissik, Patricia Rogers, Anthea Rutter, Emily Saurman, Taimur Siddiqi, Graham Smith, Kathleen Stacey, John Stoney, Kate Sunners, Caroline Vale, Sue Wilson, Marianne Wyder.

2. Apologies

Call for apologies from the floor: Nicole Tujague

3. Adopt the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 30th August 2022, in Adelaide

Proposed: Lyn Alderman

Seconded: Anthea Rutter

Motion carried

4. Presidents Report

The President, Kiri Parata, presented the President's report as published in the 2023 annual report, a copy of which is available at https://www.aes.asn.au. She talked about the strategic domains – SIGs involvement, Regional networks and ICDC committee, review of professional learning workshops and Evaluation Journal of Australasia.

5. Treasures report - presented by Carina Calzone

The Treasurer, Carina Calzoni, presented the 2023 – 2024 audited accounts as per the annual report, a copy of which is available at <u>https://www.aes.asn.au</u>.

2022/2023 turned an overall profit of - \$83 000. Changes in committee and changes in the strategic plan, the conference made a surplus and the balance sheet healthy.

6. Motion: That the Annual Report, including the Financial statements and Auditor's Report be accepted, reporting on the period July 2022 to June 2023, be accepted by the membership as an accurate record.

The floor was opened for questions on the Annual Report in particular the financial statements. How many organisational members? Kim – same about 62 an increase with APS and state government staff and a question about the evaluation archives from Colin Sharpe asked by Patricia Rogers.

It was proposed by Rick Cummings and seconded by Emily Saurman. Motion carried.

7. Motion: That BPR Audit Pty Ltd, Authorised Audit Company, who offer themselves for election, be elected auditors for the period I July 2023 to 30 June 2024.

It was proposed by Graham Smith and seconded by Liam Downing. Motion carried.

8. Announcement of Office Bearers and Ordinary Board Members elected during this year's ballot under section C.27 of the Constitution.

Returning Officer Anthea Rutter made the announcement

Election result (unopposed):

- Anne Stephens (2 yrs)
- Andrew Hawkins (2 yrs)
- Carina Calzoni (1 yr)

Continuing Board members

- Kiri Parata (to 2025)
- Nicole Tujague (to 2024)
- Tony Kiessler (to 2024)
- Jade Maloney (appointed, to 2024)

Vacant positions: Nil

Kiri thanked Anthea, and thanked Eleanor Williams who resigned from the Board in March.

Kiri calls on Rick for the Fellows presentation

9. Announcement of the 2023 Fellows of Australian Evaluation Society

Marion Norton, QLD

John Guenther NT

Marion Norton appointed a Fellow

John Guthner appointed a Fellow

10. Launch the AES Diversity and Inclusion Statement

Diversity and inclusion team - acknowledged Allen & Clarke

Available online https://www.aes.asn.au/images/AES_DI_policy_final_april2023.pdf

6.20pm meeting is closed