This exemplary Australian evaluation was conducted by a team committed to enabling Indigenous self-determination and empowerment from the outset. This was due in large part to the Indigenous leadership within the team combined with the skill and experience of the other team members in this context.

Aboriginal Evidence Building Partnership Pilot team:

ARTD Consultants: 
Simon Jordan, Sue Leahy, Ruby Leahy Gatfield, Kieran Sobels, Christine Eastman, Stephanie Quail, Imogen Williams, Holly Kovac

Aboriginal Evidence Building Team, Their Futures Matter:
Nattlie Smith, Sharon Macleod

Coffs Harbour Aboriginal Community Centre Inc (Abcare):
Garry Mathews, Greg Bennett, Trent Matthews

Tirkandi Inaburra Cultural and Development Centre:
Matt Watts, Damien Thorne, Beverley Tucker, Department of Communities, and Justice Troy Mott, Department of Education

The evaluation demonstrated how collaborative and participatory approaches, together with a strong partnership model, enabled and paid respect to the roles and cultural imperatives of two organisational partners involved, as well as to the intended objectives of the NSW government agency involved

Overall, the judges concluded that this award winner has made a strategic contribution to fostering a culture of evidence building and evaluation capacity for the ongoing monitoring and review of the Aboriginal services sector in NSW. The judges are confident that the work will lead to increased benefits for the two organisations’ service recipients, who are Aboriginal families whose children are at risk of removal, and Aboriginal boys aged 12–15 years who are seeking to develop their resilience and life skills.