The Awards are assessed using three criteria:

  1. Professionalism
  2. Ethical conduct
  3. Excellence of the evaluation work

The first two criteria – professionalism and ethical conduct – mainly apply to the role of the evaluator and/or the evaluation team and must be clearly demonstrated. The principle of excellence is mainly concerned with evaluation practice, theory and products. Excellence is assessed on a scale against the attributes relevant to the category of Award.

1. Professionalism

The evaluation team/person demonstrates high professional standards in both evaluation and relevant domains, especially in dealing with challenges presented in their work. Nominations should reference statements of applicable professional standards from relevant professional bodies, where appropriate.

2. Ethical conduct

The evaluation team/person demonstrates high standards of ethical conduct, including adherence to the AES Code of Ethics and AES Guidelines for the Ethical Conduct of Evaluations. In particular, nominations will demonstrate, where appropriate, an understanding of the special ethical considerations involved in evaluation work with Indigenous people, and the vulnerability or disempowerment of people in dependent or unequal relationships.  

3. Excellence of the evaluation work

The evaluation work (or person) should demonstrate attributes of excellence in ways relevant to the Award category (see descriptions for each Award above):

3.1. Sound use of evaluation theory and approaches

3.2. High quality and effective practice in consultation, design, planning, data collection, analysis and reporting

3.3. Stakeholders highly satisfied with the evaluation work and its use or impact

3.4. Significant contribution to utility and knowledge in the domain in which the evaluation is conducted

3.5. Innovative approaches that contribute to, or that have the potential to contribute to evaluation knowledge and practice

3.6. Significant contribution to evaluation work which both recognises and helps to redress inequalities in society.


The attributes of excellence apply to the Award categories as outlined in the list below:

  • Evaluation Systems Award – Attributes 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4 and 3.5
  • Indigenous Evaluation Award – Attributes 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4 and 3.5
  • Evaluation Journal of Australasia Publication Award – Attributes 3.1, 3.4 and those listed in the Awards description in the 'Award categories' section.
  • Public Sector Evaluation Award – Attributes 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4 and 3.5
  • Emerging New Talent Award – Attributes 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 and 3.4
  • Award for Enhancing the Social Good – Attributes 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5 and 3.6

Alternatively, download this illustrative matrix

2021Awards assessment matrix thumb