Member login
Forgot Login?   Sign up  


Fellows roll call

Meet the Fellows

Nineteen members have been appointed as Fellows of the AES and they have collectively and individually made numerous and various contributions.

Anona Armstrong (Victoria, 2003)

Scott Bayley (Australian Capital Territory, 2016)

Darrel Caulley (Victoria, 2005-2017)

Ric Cummings (Western Australia, 2013)

Sue Funnell (NSW, 2003)

Penny Hawkins (Wellington, 2009)

Anne Markiewicz (Victoria, 2015)

Chris Milne (NSW, 2003)

Jenny Neale (Wellington, 2015)

John Owen (Victoria, 2003)

Patricia Rogers (Victoria, 2016)

Anthea Rutter (Victoria, 2016)

Colin Sharp (South Australia, 2003)

Ralph Straton (Western Australia, 2004)

Ian Trotman (Wellington, 2003) Emeritus 

Zita Unger (Victoria, 2013)

Yoland Wadsworth (Victoria, 2007)

Gill Westhorp (Tasmania, 2018)

Jerome Winston (Victoria, 2004)

Alan Woodward (New South Wales, 2019)


A category of membership known as ‘Fellow of the Society’ was adopted by the AES in 2003 in order to recognise outstanding contributions by members to the Society and to evaluation more generally in Australasia.

This policy envisioned a number of purposes and benefits in relation to achieving the aims of the Society as well as benefits for a Fellow. It was seen to be a distinct form of recognition, differing from the ET&S Award and other categories of award made by the Society, and one which implicitly brought with it a variety of roles and responsibilities.

Criteria and evidence

There are four screening criteria specified to determine eligibility for nomination together with seven substantive criteria. The latter focus on Contributions to Evaluation, essentially in evaluation teaching, research and practice, and on Contributions to the Society, primarily in relation to its aims and operations. A nomination should address each of the substantive criteria even if a particular criterion is not seen as a key basis for the nomination.

How to nominate

Nominations closed and will re-open in April 2020

We have had a number of very distinguished members who have made significant contributions both to evaluation and to the AES. Many have won AES Awards for Excellence, but this recognition is often limited in time and often relates to only a part of their contribution.

Those members who have made a long term and wide ranging contribution to the AES and the field of evaluation are recognised by the Society through a special category of membership called 'Fellow of the AES'. This is a positive step towards enhancing the professionalism of the Society. The special membership bestowed on Fellows of the AES recognises their outstanding contributions to the Society and to evaluation more generally in Australasia.
We are now taking nominations.
This year’s new Fellows will be announced at the Gala Dinner held during the International Evaluation Conference. 

Names of proposed recipients are being sought from those eligible to submit names:

  • Current Board Members, Committee Chairs and Regional Representatives. Regional representatives are encouraged to seek nominations from the wider membership.
  • Past office bearers
  • Fellows.

To assist in the preparation of a nomination, download the following documents - NB: these will be updated and available once nominations open in 2020:

  • Nomination to Fellowship of the AES: Criteria and evidence
  • Nomination to Fellowship of the AES: Policy
  • Nomination cover sheet

Nominations should be sent electronically to the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., CEO (subject:"Nomination for AES Fellow").